About the Department


Established in the year 1959, the Department of Mathematics is one of the oldest departments of Dyal Singh College. Since its inception, the department has maintained a rich legacy of excellence in teaching and dedication towards students. The department has always been committed to provide an atmosphere for the students where they can develop their analytical skill and can become competent users of mathematics and its applications. Under the tutelage of the Department of Mathematics, University of Delhi, it imparts Mathematics learning as per the various courses offered in different degree programs.
The department primarily offers two degree programs, one each at the undergraduate and postgraduate level namely, 3 years / 6 semesters B.Sc. (H) Mathematics program and 2 years / 4 semesters M.Sc. Mathematics program. In addition, another degree program, B.Sc. (Program) Physical Science with Chemistry or Computer Science, is offered in collaboration with the Departments of Chemistry, Computer Science and Physics, The department also offers Mathematics as one of their Discipline subjects for the students of B.A. (Program). Any interested student of other degree programs offered in the college has the opportunity to study courses of the Department of Mathematics by opting Mathematics courses as their
Generic Elective Course(GEC) and/or Skill Enhancement Course (SEC)
The strength of the department lies in its highly qualified faculty, having more than 20 members among which 5 are associate professors. The contribution of our faculty in research adds up to 85 research publications in peer reviewed journals (national /international). In addition, two of the faculty members are supervising Ph.D. scholars as well.Each year, the meritorious students of our department, first and second positions in each year for B.Sc.(H) Mathematics, are selected for the following
M. L. Nanada Memorial Prize
Shri Ram Labhai Nanda Memorial Prize
Baij Nath Memorial Prize
Smt. Shyam Piyari Nanda Memorial Prize

The Department of Mathematics has its own departmental level grievance committee for the students to look into the complainants.

Grievance Committee (2021-22):

Mrs. Ishver Rani Manchanda
Dr. A. P. Singh
Dr. Dinesh Kumar, TIC


Website: dsc.du.ac.in
Email: tic.maths@dsc.du.ac.in